#ThePinkMailbox: NightOwl Books Fantasy / Sci Fi Bag – #Unboxing

Disclaimer: This bag was sent to me free of charge, courtesy of NightOwl Books, but this in no means affects my opinion, which remains my own.

So there I was, just sat in my lounge, reading my book when, all of sudden, an unexpected courier van arrives; quickly scouring my memory for anything about this delivery, I came up blank… nothing to do but open it.

I was a moment of pure joy when I saw that this was my latest NightOwl Bookish Bagz.

Check out my previous unboxings if you’re interested:

Anyone who knows me can easily guess that I would always go with fantasy first – #DontJudgeMe – so, of course, I chose the Fantasy / Sci Fi bag – this was the first bag in the new format, ie. sans theme.

The first very noticeable thing about this bag was that it was BULKY which, upon opening, turned out to be hand made Blanket – made by Janine herself – and it is just gorgeous, with its red chain detail on a black and grey background (very fantasy). It has a double layer, making this blanket reversible, and it is beautifully finished off around the edges with like a knotted border – stunning!

The bag remained a little bulky even after the blanket was removed and it was all I could to stop myself from just turning the bag upside down and spilling everything onto the floor. Gently, then, I reached inside an grabbed hold of another hand made item… Because the bag was late, delayed by the publishers and the pandemic, Janine included a beautiful pencil bag, which has a beautiful paisley design outside and has an inner lining, that closes with a zip. The pencil bag was an additional extra item not originally part of the bag.

Nestled inside the pencil bag was a lovely hand-poured “Vanilla & Tobacco” scented candle (made by The Scent Siren); not going to lie, I felt that this candle, particularly the scent, gave this bag a more masculine feel to it – don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against “girly”, duh, but I’m still a guy. you know…

There was one final bundle in the bag; this contained the book of the month and all the little ephemera.

  • A hand written thank you note from Janine,
  • Spoiler Card designed by Lizma Jordaan,
  • Stunning “constellation” themed postcard and an incredibly beautiful metallic bookmark, designed by Avviare Bookish Art,
  • An engaging “Tips On How To Get Published” letter from Krest Publishers – I really enjoyed this little touch.

The Fantasy / Sci Fi bag came with an exclusive additional item – 2 more collectable Arcana Cards designed exlusively for NightOwl by Lizma Jordaan Photography & Design.

And the book is why I chose this particular bag (like I really needed a reason…) – Pan’s Labyrinth by Guillermo del Toro & Cornelia Funke is inspired by that movie, of the same name, that starred Bon Jovi… SUPER EXCITED TO READ THIS!!!!!!!

* Spoiler card, postcard, & metallic bookmark compiled and manufactured by Yolk SA *

I think this may just have been their BEST BAG YET!!

Due to having faced many ongoing problems over the past year, NightOwl Books has decided to take a short hiatus and has many great plans for the future. – I wish them everything of the best and hope to share more of their well curated items very soon.

And because I have a YouTube channel, I made an unboxing video, obviously – you can find it here.

Happy reading

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑