An Audio Overload | My July In Books

July was, emotionally, a very hard month for me; what with the slump I was in, missing my mother something fierce, and just plain old everyday problems getting me down, I just wasn’t up for anything.

I only read one physical book this month, because I was on tour for it; and by physical, I mean, with my eyes…


The Body In The Back Garden by Mark Waddell

Oh, my goodness! I love a good cosy mystery and this delivered quite nicely!

When Luke’s estranged aunt is murdered, she leaves him her cottage and her antique shop in Crescent Cove, a place from his childhood filled with memories. Not wanting to uproot his journalist life in Toronto, he travels there for a couple days to finalise everything and put both properties up for sale.

I highly recommend this first book in a new series that promises to be super cute and super cosy.

Find my full review here.

The rest was all audiobooks…

This month saw the ten-year anniversary of my Mother’s passing; it was quite an emotional time for me. This year I honoured her memory by reading a book that we both adored.


Pick Of The Month

Wizard’s First Rule by Terry Goodkind

“Once you teach me something, it’s mine to use.”

Terry Goodkind

I cannot even begin to estimate how many times I’ve read this book across my lifetime; believe me, as my favourite book of all time, I’ve read it plenty.

Please Check Content/Trigger Warnings – Even though the main characters are of young/new adult age, this is an ADULT series and, as such, deals with very mature content and themes.

Having come across this book in my late teens, I have learned, and adapted, so many lessons from its pages that I shudder to think how I might have turned out if I never came across this… I mean, “think of the solution, not the problem” stood me in good stead my entire life, and that’s just to name one.

Since this is part of a 10+ book series Wizard’s First Rule is literally just the tip of this iceberg. We get introduced to our main characters, along with some integral others, and we are pulled into a highly atmospheric world rich with magic, creatures, peoples, religions, and beliefs.

I am currently rereading this series on audiobook and listening to it adds an entirely new level to this amazing world.

Also, Richard Rahl was my very first “book boyfriend” and he will always be number one to me! But I do stan the OTP of Richard & Kahlan, so it’s all good in make-believe land.

I highly recommend this to all fantasy fans out there.


This then, because I adore these characters and this world so much, quickly precipitated into a reread of the series; I figured, too, that since I did a reread of The Wheel Of Time last year (also on audio), it was time.

So far, I’ve also finished:

I may or may not review any or all of these, but if I do I will do so intermittently – do keep an eye on my GoodReads.


Do let me know what you’ve been reading, what you thought of any of the above, or if you have a suggestion/recommendation for me, in the comments below or on any of my other socials. Until next time…

Happy reading!

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑