Popular LGBTQIA+ Titles To Look Out For At The Next Bargain Books SA Warehouse Sale

The next Bargain Books SA Warehouse Sale is happening on Tuesday 24 September 2019 and I am super excited to show and tell you about everything queer that may be found in the two full sized warehouses.

PicsArt_09-18-01.34.04

In case you’re making up your shopping lists in preparation for the sale, I wanted to showcase some of the top trending LGTQIA+ titles that are currently available on the warehouse floor.

Please be aware that stocks are limited!

Skype_Picture_2019_09_09T08_46_25_191Z

Becky Albertalli

Simon & the Homo Sapiens Agenda or Love, Simon (the movie tie in edition), Leah on the Off Beat, The Upside of Unrequited & What if it’s Us, with Adam Silvera, are some of the more well known and popular titles that have been trending on Instagram.

Two of these are currently on my shelf and I hope to add the other 2 at the next sale. I’ve just finished The Upside of Unrequited – review coming shortly!

Titles I Really Want To Read

Call Me by Your Name by André Aciman is a book I’ve been been hearing a lot about; I did watch the movie adaptation, though, and I loved it so much. It is such a beautiful movie, story and cinematography, but I want to read the book for the things that have been left out.

My Brother’s Name is Jessica by John Boyle is a book I really want to read, so I’ll definitely be grabbing a copy as soon as I can.

I saw Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee floating around at the last book sale; it sounds like a really cute read, so guess what else is on my shopping list?

I’ve also been seeing Alice Oseman everywhere and I’m really curious, so when I heard about I was Born for This I just had to add it to my list, as well. Maybe there will even be a copy or two of Heartstopper… #WishfulThinking

PicsArt_09-18-10.21.14

Titles I Just Found Out About

A little birdie told me that some of the following titles may also be available in the warehouse:

The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M Danforth (Cameron is sent to a religious conversion camp that is supposed to “cure” her homosexuality where she comes face to face with the cost of denying her own sexuality), Trans Mission by Alex Bertie, The Definition of Us by Sarah Harris, It’s Not Like It’s A Secret by Misa Sugiura,  Girl Mans Up by M. E. Girard, and As I Descended by Robin Talley.

Queer Fantasy

Of course, as a lover of fantasy and escapism, I cannot compile a list like this and not include some queer fantasy; fantasy with LGBT characters or themes. I do hope that some of these can be found at the sale:

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller; Circe was mesmerizing in every way, story, writing and characters, and I wanted to read this immediately afterwards so it’s been on my list for a while.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo; this was the first Bardugo I ever read and it made me an instant fan! With one of my favourite couples of all time, I also enjoyed all the other LGBT references.

The Trials of Apollo: The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan; I haven’t yet had the pleasure of reading any Riordan novels yet, but I have heard only good things!

Other Titles To Look Out For

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee (a young bisexual British lord embarks on an unforgettable Grant Tour of Europe with his best friend / secret crush), Pantomime by Laura Lam & Not Your Sidekick by C B Lee.

This sale is going to be epic and I cannot wait to dive in! If you see me there, by the way, don’t be shy; do come round and say hi – we can take a selfie and I’ll put it on my Instagram Stories.

The Important Details

  • Bargain Books SA Warehouse Book Sale
  • Tuesday 24th September 2019
  • 9am – 5pm
  • Card facilities for payment will be available
  • BrewETC coffee truck will be up and available for refreshments
  • Website : Bargain Books

IMG_20190918_145413_467

Remember, BrewETC will be setup at the sale with their specialty Arabica coffee blends to serve up some freshly ground coffee and yummy home baked cakes and goodies at incredible prices, to keep shoppers on their feet and hungry tummies filled,

You can find out more about the BrewETC team on their website.


Will you be attending the sale? Have you read any of the titles in today’s post? Have a good book to recommend to us? Please let us know in the comments section below. Until next time…

Keep smiling

2 thoughts on “Popular LGBTQIA+ Titles To Look Out For At The Next Bargain Books SA Warehouse Sale

Add yours

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑