#PinkReads – Book Review #006 : Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Synopsis

Are you happy in your life?

Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious.

Before he awakens to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits.

Before the man he’s never met smiles down at him and says, ‘Welcome back.’

In this world he’s woken up to, Jason’s life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor, but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable. Something impossible.

Is it this world or the other that’s the dream? And even if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could’ve imagined – one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.

General Information

Paperback : 340 pages

ISBN : 987-1-4472-9757-4

Publisher : MacMillon / Pan MacMillon

Review

*** SPOILER ALERT *** SPOILER ALERT *** SPOILER ALERT ***

This book is just brilliant!!! I don’t read very many thrillers but this had me on the edge of my seat from very early on!

At this point, I just want to give a big shoutout to the TV show The Big Bang Theory; without which, I honestly wouldn’t have understood any of the “rocket science” space talk that forms the core of the story.

It won’t make calls in this world – I guess minutes aren’t transferable across the multiverse…

When I first saw the title, I thought it might be Science Fiction; but snippets I saw here and there through Instagram and GoodReads, I was convinced it was a Thriller. But they are both skillfully interwoven; meshed with nail biting suspense, and tear jerking emotion, this is one gut-twisting,  heart-rending, mind-blowing, hella good read!!

Another new author, I absolutely love the way Blake writes; his style is descriptive without being flowery, kind of minimalistic, in a way, yet he says them beautifully – why use more words than is necessary, anyway?

Blake takes us to Chicago in this book but he also takes us to other places, some are horrifying while others are a little pleasant; however, these other places are Chicago, too – same place, same time, different dimensions (sounds like some serious timey wimey stuff!)

I adore Jason’s character; perfect middle class husband and father, with the right kind of regrets, ones that we can all relate to. I am enamored by the love that he has for his family and the love they have for him; knowing someone, really knowing them, so well that you can feel who they are, their very being.

The rest of the cast of characters are all equally just as well written.

Are you happy in your life?

I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would and I definitely recommend this for fans of SciFi and Thrillers; for everyone, really!

 

five-stars-crop

I would love to hear your thoughts on this book, so please don’t hesitate to leave a comment. As always, don’t forget to like and share. Until next time….

Keep smiling!

3 thoughts on “#PinkReads – Book Review #006 : Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Add yours

  1. Loved this book. Great review! The main character is such a good man. I was like, give this man an award for best husband! I love that the author wrote someone who was totally in love with his wife. That really drove the plot, because he was so determined to get back to his family and his life exactly how it was in his dimension.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: